MPA 儿童服务

MPA 儿童服务

梅尔马克学校

梅尔马克学校是一所经批准的私立学校,获得宾夕法尼亚州教育部的许可,专门为 21 至 XNUMX 岁的学生提供服务,他们需要密集的、个性化的教育方法,并在适合教育的学习环境中设计行为重点,因为诊断自闭症谱系障碍和其他智力和发育障碍,这可能继发于复杂的行为特征。

 

我们支持性的师生比例(由个性化教育计划 (IEP) 团队确定)使我们能够专注于每个学生的个人成长和发展,塑造适合每个孩子特定需求的学习环境。 我们的教育直接支持人员带着至少 50 个大学学分来到梅尔马克。 所有教室都由高素质的认证特殊教育教师监督。

 

梅尔马克学校以其全面和协作的临床服务交付模式为定义,将应用行为分析 (ABA) 的原则融入个性化学习模式中。 我们与 IEP 团队协调实施每个学生的 IEP。 我们的教育计划与社区资源相结合,包括职业前培训和职业培训。

 

我们为您提供:

  • 临床团队成员由特殊教育教师、董事会认证行为分析师 (BCBA)、同时也是 BCBA 的教育管理人员、职业治疗师和言语/语言病理学专业人士组成。
  • 专为有强烈行为和学习需求的学生设计的教室
  • 健康需求护理部
  • 游乐场、体育馆和 80 英亩以上的项目设置
  • 走读和住宿学生的 12 个月学年周期(10 个月学年,加上 XNUMX 周延长学年 (ESY))
  • 提供专门设计的个人和团体教学,以期过渡到包容性环境,包括返回公立学校
  • 持续评估技能以帮助设定目标和每两周一次的学生进度监控
  • 广泛利用技术促进学习,包括增强和替代通信 (AAC) 设备、SMART Boards® 等。

 

 

 

住宅处理设施 (RTF)

Melmark 宾夕法尼亚州的住院治疗设施 (RTF) 是一项神经行为计划,专门针对被诊断患有自闭症谱系障碍和其他智力和发育障碍的儿童,评估和治疗严重且难以治疗的挑战性行为。 RTF 的目标是通过减少具有挑战性的行为并促进个人在限制较少的环境中与家人团聚,帮助每个孩子获得最高水平的个人成长、成就和独立性。

 

我们为您提供:

  • 为 21 至 XNUMX 岁的儿童和青少年提供支持,他们的行为会对自己和他人造成伤害,并限制参与社区的机会
  • 基于证据和结果驱动的服务模式
  • 根植于应用行为分析 (ABA) 的干预理念
  • 校内住宿
  • 让孩子有机会参与校内和校外活动
  • 行为分析服务与精神科和康复护理的整合
  • 基于“一对一”观察/实践学习模式的家长培训,与孩子、家长和 Melmark 员工

 

教育服务

Melmark 与当地学区合作,为孩子确定合适的教育安置。 被 RTF 录取的儿童可以在 Melmark 宾夕法尼亚州经批准的私立学校 The Melmark School 上专门设计的教室参加全日制学校。 在进入 The Melmark School 之前,IEP 的制定是为了满足孩子的教育需求,同时专注于稳定可能阻碍教育进步的具有挑战性的行为。 在前 45 天内,进行评估以确定更新的 IEP。

 

家庭参与

积极的家庭参与是护理的必要组成部分。 父母、家庭成员和其他被确定为家庭团聚过程不可或缺的照顾者应访问并参加定期培训课程。 梅尔马克宾夕法尼亚州员工的支持逐渐减少,直到父母或其他看护人能够在梅尔马克、社区和家中有效地实施他们孩子的行为支持计划。

 

出院计划

出院计划是治疗的重要组成部分,在入院过程中就开始了。 如果尚未确定合适的出院地点,Melmark 宾夕法尼亚州的工作人员、机构间团队成员和家长将努力确定合适的出院地点。

 

住宅服务

梅尔马克宾夕法尼亚大学为 21 至 24 岁的学生在位于梅尔马克宾夕法尼亚计划设置的三个家庭之一中提供住宿/教育实习,他们的个性化教育计划 (IEP) 目标需要 XNUMX 小时治疗性和结构化的学习环境。 所有课程都侧重于应用行为分析 (ABA),我们坚持最高标准的住宿护理和监督支持服务,旨在满足每个学生的个人需求。

 

在每个家庭中,在训练有素的员工(其中许多人拥有学士学位或更高学历)的密切监督下,孩子们在居家般的氛围中努力实现自我照顾、休闲时间、职业、交流、日常生活和社区 IEP 目标。 孩子们喜欢户外游戏活动和社区娱乐和休闲活动。 郊游是经常发生的事情,包括去公园旅行、看电影、户外音乐会、杂货店购物和当地景点等活动。

 

与我们的走读学校计划类似,每个家庭在所有清醒时间都配备 1:2 的 ABA 师生比例(或 1:1 ABA 师生比例,如果 IEP 指定),以及 1:4 的睡眠比例小时。 住宿计划由具有高级学位和证书的高级工作人员监督。 此外,这些家庭还得到 24 小时随叫随到的护理支持以及行政和高级临床人员的支持。

 

家庭团聚是所有寄宿学生的基本目标。 家庭接受持续培训,以便与孩子一起成功地为学校停课做好准备。 在适当的时候,我们为每个孩子制定的目标是尽快返回家庭或限制较少的环境。

 

Melmark 提供了一个安全和激励的环境,通过促进个性化的目标和服务来促进增长。 在梅尔马克学校就读的寄宿学生住在我们四个校内房屋之一中的家一般的氛围中,在那里他们可以轻松访问校园资源和服务。 学生能够积极参加以社区为基础的社交和休闲活动,例如去公园、看电影、户外音乐会和其他当地景点。

 

与家人合作

Melmark 的儿童服务团队与家人合作,倾听他们的担忧,了解他们的挑战,并专注于确保成功提供服务的支持。 我们为孩子和 Melmark 员工提供遵循观察/实践模式的家长培训。 我们为孩子在丰富的环境中获得更高水平的独立性做好准备,以便在限制较少的环境或成人环境中取得成功。

 

康复服务和医疗保健

为了满足梅尔马克宾夕法尼亚州儿童和成人在我们的日间和住宿计划中的个性化需求,我们的专职健康服务专业人员与其他专业人员一起提供全面的辅助健康相关服务,包括:

 

言语和语言治疗: 言语和语言治疗师在职,为语言和非语言的学生和成人提供功能性沟通培训。 此外,这些专业人员在早期语言技能、社交/语用语言技能、发音技巧、吞咽障碍以及适当时使用辅助和替代交流 (AAC) 设备等领域提供持续培训。 服务通过直接或间接模式提供。

 

职业治疗: 职业治疗师为学生提供精细运动发展、书面交流、日常生活技能(例如穿衣、自食)、家庭和职业技能(例如膳食准备)方面的培训和/或环境适应。 服务通过咨询或直接模式提供。

 

物理疗法: 物理治疗师帮助有粗大运动需求、协调性、灵活性、运动计划和平衡的学生和成人,以促进功能性活动能力和改善体位。 服务通过咨询或直接模式提供。

 

医疗保健服务: 梅尔马克宾夕法尼亚州的护理人员由注册护士组成,他们有与诊断出有特殊需要的人一起工作的经验。 这些敬业的专业人员负责监督我们服务的个人的整体健康状况,包括协调现场流感和牙科诊所。 他们还协调为住宿学生和成人提供的常规医疗服务,每周由经过培训的内科医生在现场提供。

 

行为框架用于评估、规定、实施和重新评估言语和语言、身体和职业以及其他辅助服务的提供。 提供的所有服务都遵循循证干预指南。

MPA Children’s Services

MPA Children's Services

The Melmark School

The Melmark School is an approved private school, licensed by the Pennsylvania Department of Education and specializing in serving students, ages five to 21, who require an intensive, individualized educational approach with a behavioral focus designed in an educationally appropriate learning environment due to a diagnosis of autism spectrum disorders and other intellectual and developmental disabilities, which may be secondary to complex behavioral profiles.

 

Our supportive staff-student ratio (as determined by the Individualized Education Program (IEP) team) allows us to focus on each student’s personal growth and development, shaping a learning environment that fits each child’s specific needs. Our educational direct support staff come to Melmark with at least 50 college credits. All classrooms are supervised by a highly qualified certified special education teacher.

 

The Melmark School is defined by its comprehensive and collaborative clinical service delivery model, incorporating the principles of Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) into an individualized learning model. We implement each student’s IEP as coordinated with the IEP team. Our educational programs are integrated to work in collaboration with community resources and include both pre-vocational and vocational training.

 

We offer:

  • Clinical team members consisting of special education teachers, Board Certified Behavior Analysts (BCBAs), education administrators who are also BCBAs, occupational therapists, and speech/language pathology professionals.
  • Specially designed classrooms for students with intensive behavioral and learning needs
  • Nursing department for health needs
  • Playgrounds, gymnasium, and 80+-acre program setting
  • 12-month school year cycle (10-month school year, plus six-week Extended School Year (ESY)) for both day and residential students
  • Specially designed individual and group instruction provided in anticipation of transitions to inclusive settings including back to public school
  • Ongoing assessment of skills to aid in goal setting and bi-weekly student progress monitoring
  • Extensive utilization of technology to facilitate learning, including Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC) devices, SMART Boards®, etc.

 

 

 

Residential Treatment Facility (RTF)

Melmark Pennsylvania’s Residential Treatment Facility (RTF) is a neurobehavioral program specializing in the assessment and treatment of severe and treatment-resistant challenging behavior for children diagnosed with autism spectrum disorders and other intellectual and developmental disabilities. The goal of the RTF is to help each child attain the highest level of personal growth, achievement, and independence by decreasing challenging behaviors and facilitating the reunification of the individual with his or her family in a less restrictive environment.

 

We offer:

  • Support to children and adolescents, ages five to 21, with behaviors that present risk of harm to self and others, and limit access to community participation
  • An evidence-based and outcome-driven service model
  • An intervention philosophy rooted in Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA)
  • On-campus housing
  • Opportunities for children to participate in activities on and off-campus
  • Integration of behavior analytic services with psychiatric and rehabilitative care
  • Parent training based on a “one-to-one” observational/practical-learning model with the child, parent, and Melmark staff

 

Education Services

Melmark works with the local school district to determine an appropriate educational placement for the child. Children admitted to the RTF may attend a full-school day at The Melmark School, Melmark Pennsylvania’s approved private school in specially designed classrooms. Prior to attending The Melmark School, an IEP is developed to meet the educational needs of the child while focusing on stabilizing challenging behaviors that may be impeding educational progress. During the first 45 days, assessments are conducted which determine an updated IEP.

 

Family Involvement

Active family involvement is a required component of care. Parents, family members, and other caregivers identified as integral to the family reunification process are expected to visit and to participate in regular training sessions. Support from Melmark Pennsylvania staff is slowly tapered until parents or other caregivers are able to effectively implement their child’s behavior support plan at Melmark, in the community, and at home.

 

Discharge Planning

Discharge planning is an essential part of treatment and begins during the admissions process. Melmark Pennsylvania staff, inter-agency team members, and parents will work to identify an appropriate discharge site if one has not already been identified.

 

Residential Services

Melmark Pennsylvania offers residential/educational placements within one of three homes located in the Melmark Pennsylvania program setting for students, ages five to 21, whose Individualized Education Program (IEP) objectives require a 24-hour therapeutic and structured learning environment. All programming is focused on Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA), and we adhere to the highest standard of residential care and supervised supportive services designed to meet each student’s individual needs.

 

Within each home, under the closer supervision of well-trained staff, many of whom have bachelor’s degrees or higher, children work on self-care, leisure time, vocational, communication, daily living, and community IEP goals in a homelike atmosphere. Children enjoy outdoor play activities and community recreational and leisure activities. Outings are a regular occurrence and include activities such as trips to the park, movies, outdoor concerts, grocery shopping, and local attractions.

 

Similar to our day school program, each home is staffed with a 1:2 ABA staff to student ratio (or 1:1 ABA staff to student ratio if designated by the IEP) during all awake hours, and a 1:4 ratio for asleep hours. The residential program is supervised by senior staff with advanced degrees and certifications. In addition, the homes are supported by 24-hour on-call nursing support, as well as administrative and senior clinical staff.

 

Family reunification is an essential goal for all residential students. Families receive ongoing training in order to successfully be prepared for school closing periods with their child. Our goal for each child, when appropriate, is to return to the family’s home or a less restrictive environment as soon as possible.

 

Melmark provides a safe and motivating environment that promotes growth by facilitating individualized goals and services. Residential students who attend The Melmark School reside in a home-like atmosphere in one of our four on-campus houses, where they are easily able to access campus resources and services. Students are able to actively take part in community-based social and recreational outings such as trips to the park, movies, outdoor concerts, and other local attractions.

 

Partnering with Families

Melmark’s Children’s Services team works with the family, listens to their concerns, understands their challenges, and focuses on supports that will ensure the successful delivery of services. We offer parent training with the child and Melmark staff that follows an observational/practical model. We prepare the child for a greater level of independence in an enriched environment to be successful in a less restrictive setting or an adult setting.

 

Rehabilitative Services and Health Care

To meet the individualized needs of Melmark Pennsylvania’s children and adults in our day and residential programs, our allied health services professionals work alongside other professional staff to provide a comprehensive range of ancillary health-related services including:

 

Speech and Language Therapy: Speech and language therapists are on staff to provide functional communication training for students and adults who are verbal and non-verbal. In addition, these professionals provide continued training in the areas of early language skills, social/pragmatic language skills, articulation skills, swallowing disorders, and, when appropriate, the use of Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC) devices. Services are provided through a direct or indirect model.

 

Occupational Therapy: Occupational therapists provide students with training and/or environmental adaptations for fine motor development, written communication, daily living skills (e.g. dressing, self-feeding), domestic and vocational skills (e.g. meal preparation). Services are provided through a consultative or direct model.

 

Physical Therapy: Physical therapists aid students and adults with gross motor needs, coordination, flexibility, motor planning, and balance to promote functional mobility and improve positioning. Services are provided through a consultative or direct model.

 

Healthcare Services: Melmark Pennsylvania’s nursing staff is comprised of Registered Nurses who have experience working with individuals diagnosed with special needs. These dedicated professionals oversee the general health of the individuals we serve including coordinating on-site flu and dental clinics. They also coordinate routine medical care for residential students and adults, provided onsite weekly by a trained internist.

 

A behavioral framework is used to assess, prescribe, implement, and reassess the delivery of speech and language, physical, and occupational, and other ancillary services. All services provided follow evidence-based intervention guidelines.