خدمات الأطفال MNE

خدمات الأطفال MNE

برنامج الطفولة المبكرة

ميلمارك نيو إنجلاند هي مدرسة خاصة معتمدة ومرخصة من قبل إدارة ماساتشوستس للتعليم الابتدائي والثانوي. يخدم برنامج الطفولة المبكرة (EC) الطلاب الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 10 و XNUMX سنوات ، والذين يحتاجون إلى نهج سلوكي فردي مكثف مصمم في بيئة تعليمية مناسبة تربويًا بسبب تشخيص اضطرابات طيف التوحد وغيرها من الإعاقات الذهنية والتنموية ، والتي قد تكون ثانوية ملامح سلوكية معقدة.

 

يلتزم مدرسونا بالتدخل القائم على الأدلة في تحليل السلوك التطبيقي (ABA) والتعليم الخاص وتنمية الطفل. يسمح منهجنا المخصص لفريق الطالب التعليمي بدمج الأهداف والغايات لكل طالب في خطط الدروس والأنشطة اليومية. والنتيجة هي تجربة تعليمية غنية وذات مغزى لكل طفل بناءً على مستوى استعداده. يركز المنهج الدراسي في برنامج EC على: مهارات المتعلم المبكر ، ومهارات الاتصال ، ومهارات استخدام المرحاض ، ومهارات التغذية ، وتنمية السلوك.

 

نحن نقدم:

  • يشرف محللو السلوك المعتمدون من مجلس الإدارة (BCBAs) مع أكثر من 10 سنوات من الخبرة على الإشراف على الفصول الدراسية ، مما يضمن مراقبة الجودة مع توفير موارد إضافية لمعلمي الفصل
  • مدرسو التربية الخاصة على مستوى الماجستير لكل فصل دراسي
  • فصول دراسية مصممة خصيصًا للمتعلمين الأوائل
  • الترتيبات التعليمية مع نسبة 1: 2 ABA للموظفين إلى الطلاب (أو نسبة 1: 1 ABA للموظفين والطلاب ، إذا تم تحديدها بواسطة IEP)
  • طاقم التمريض للاحتياجات الصحية
  • صالة رياضية ومكتبة وكافيتريا
  • ملعب ومناطق مشي خارجية جذابة
  • حمامات مع تجهيزات مناسبة للأطفال
  • استراتيجيات التدريس المبنية على البراهين
  • تقويم عام دراسي مدته 12 شهرًا (237 يومًا) مع 10 إجازات وثلاثة أسابيع إجازة مدرسية
  • منهج مصمم خصيصًا لتلبية المعايير الأساسية المشتركة في التربية الخاصة
  • إرشادات فردية وجماعية مصممة خصيصًا تحسباً للانتقال إلى البيئات الشاملة بما في ذلك العودة إلى المدرسة العامة
  • التقييم المستمر للمهارات للمساعدة في تحديد الأهداف ومراقبة تقدم الطلاب الأسبوعية
  • الاستخدام المكثف للتكنولوجيا لتسهيل التعلم ، بما في ذلك أجهزة الاتصال المعززة والبديلة (AAC) ، SMART Boards® ، إلخ. 

 

يعمل أخصائيو علاج النطق واللغة والمهنية والفيزيائية جنبًا إلى جنب مع معلمي الفصول الدراسية ، مما يسهل توسيع هذه الخدمات المهمة. لضمان أعلى مستويات الجودة والاتساق ، يتلقى المعلمون والموظفون السريريون المساعدون إشرافًا وثيقًا ودعمًا من طاقم طبي متوسط ​​وعالي المستوى.

 

برنامج سن المدرسة

ميلمارك نيو إنجلاند هي مدرسة خاصة معتمدة ، ومرخصة من قبل قسم ماساتشوستس للتعليم الابتدائي والثانوي ، وهي متخصصة في خدمة الطلاب ، الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 11 و 21 عامًا ، والذين يحتاجون إلى نهج سلوكي فردي مكثف مصمم في بيئة تعليمية مناسبة تربويًا بسبب تشخيص اضطرابات طيف التوحد وغيرها من الإعاقات الذهنية والتنموية ، والتي قد تكون ثانوية في السمات السلوكية المعقدة.

 

يلتزم مدرسونا بالتدخل القائم على الأدلة في تحليل السلوك التطبيقي (ABA) والتعليم الخاص وتنمية الطفل. يسمح منهجنا المخصص لفريق الطالب التعليمي بدمج الأهداف والغايات لكل طالب في خطط الدروس والأنشطة اليومية. والنتيجة هي تجربة تعليمية غنية وذات مغزى لكل طفل بناءً على مستوى استعداده.

 

نحن نقدم:

  • محللو السلوك المعتمدون من مجلس الإدارة (BCBAs) ، مع أكثر من 10 سنوات من الخبرة ، والإشراف على الإشراف على الفصول الدراسية ، وضمان مراقبة الجودة مع توفير موارد إضافية لمعلمي الفصل
  • مدرسو التربية الخاصة على مستوى الماجستير لكل فصل دراسي
  • فصول دراسية مصممة خصيصًا للطلاب ذوي الاحتياجات السلوكية والتعليمية المكثفة
  • عند الطلب واختبار نظام التقييم الشامل البديل (MCAS) في ماساتشوستس
  • التدريب قبل المهني والتدريب المهني ؛ فرص العمل التطوعي والمجتمعي
  • طاقم التمريض للاحتياجات الصحية
  • صالة رياضية ومكتبة وكافيتريا
  • ملعب ومناطق مشي خارجية جذابة
  • تقويم عام دراسي مدته 12 شهرًا (237 يومًا) مع 10 إجازات وثلاثة أسابيع إجازة مدرسية
  • إرشادات فردية وجماعية مصممة خصيصًا تحسباً للانتقال إلى البيئات الشاملة بما في ذلك العودة إلى المدرسة العامة
  • التقييم المستمر للمهارات للمساعدة في تحديد الأهداف ومراقبة تقدم الطلاب الأسبوعية
  • الاستخدام المكثف للتكنولوجيا لتسهيل التعلم بما في ذلك أجهزة الاتصال المعزز والبديل (AAC) ، SMART Boards® ، إلخ.

 

برنامج ما بعد المدرسة في ميلمارك نيو إنجلاند متاح للطلاب المؤهلين في سن المدرسة المسجلين في برنامجنا اليومي. هذا البرنامج بتكلفة إضافية.

 

يعمل أخصائيو علاج النطق واللغة والمهنية والفيزيائية جنبًا إلى جنب مع معلمي الفصل ، مما يسهل توسيع هذه الخدمات المهمة. لضمان أعلى مستوى من الجودة والاتساق ، يتلقى المعلمون والموظفون السريريون المساعدون إشرافًا وثيقًا ودعمًا من الموظفين الإكلينيكيين من المستوى المتوسط ​​والعالي.

 

الخدمات المهنية

من المحبط أن نلاحظ أن 70 في المائة من الأفراد المصابين بالتوحد عاطلون عن العمل أو يعملون بشكل جزئي. عندما يتم تقديم تدريب عملي على المهارات المهنية للطالب ، فإن احتمالية حصوله على عمل هادف في مرحلة البلوغ تتحسن بشكل كبير. مع العمل في سنوات بلوغه ، تتحسن نوعية حياة الفرد بشكل كبير. تحقيقا لهذه الغاية ، لدى ميلمارك برنامج تدريب مهني نشط ومتزايد لطلابنا المراهقين. يتطلب الأمر برمجة معقدة وصبرًا وتصميمًا من جانب مدرسينا حتى يتقدم الطالب من التعلم في فصل دراسي متخصص إلى العمل في المجتمع. نحن نسعى جاهدين للوصول إلى هذا المستوى من الإنجاز مع كل طالب من طلابنا.  

 

فيما يلي عينة من الوظائف الداخلية والخارجية المؤمنة لطلابنا:

 

ميلمارك نيو إنجلاند ومقهى ميلمارك، أندوفر ، ماساتشوستس. على أساس يومي ، يقوم الطلاب بإعداد وتنظيف المطبخ والكافتيريا ، ويقومون بمجموعة متنوعة من الواجبات في منطقة غسل الأطباق ويعملون كصراف يدير نظام نقاط البيع المعتمد على Apple للموظفين والزائرين الذين يطلبون الغداء. يقوم الطلاب أيضًا بجهود إعادة التدوير في جميع أنحاء المدرسة ، بما في ذلك الفرز والتعبئة وإعادة العلب والزجاجات لاسترداد الودائع. في تشغيل الطلاب ميل مارت ، يمكن للطلاب والموظفين والزوار شراء الوجبات الخفيفة والمشروبات التي تم شراؤها وتسعيرها وتخزينها وبيعها من قبل الطلاب المهنيين. 

 

99 مطعم, Tewksbury MA. يقوم الطلاب بتقسيم الطعام ووزنه وتغليفه (الخضار أو المعكرونة). 

حانة كلاداغ، لورانس ماجستير. يقوم الطلاب بالتنظيف الأساسي وصيانة مستلزمات البهارات. 

صديق الخشب، هدسون ، نيو هامبشاير. يعمل الطلاب في ساحة تكديس الأخشاب ويساعدون في ضمان بيئة عمل نظيفة ومنظمة.

هامبتون إن، Haverhill، MA. يعمل الطلاب في منطقة الإفطار لتخزين الأطباق والمناديل والتوابل للضيوف. يوفر الطلاب أيضًا خدمة تنظيف الغرف في المنطقة واللوبي المجاور.

جاكسون لامبر و Millwork، لورانس ، ماساتشوستس. يعمل الطلاب في ساحة تكديس الأخشاب ويساعدون في ضمان بيئة عمل نظيفة ومنظمة.

الدفيئة Konjoian, أندوفر ماجستير. يقوم الطلاب بإعداد التربة للزراعة في القدر والمشاركة في زراعة وزراعة النباتات والزهور والأعشاب الموسمية. يساعد الطلاب في واجبات الدفيئة العامة التي يمكن أن تشمل الكنس ، وإعداد المنتجات للبيع بالتجزئة والواجبات الأخرى كما هو محدد. 

Lowe تحسين المنزل، لويل ، ماساتشوستس. يعمل الطلاب كمتدربين مشاركين في خدمة المرافق.

بنك طعام وادي ميريماك، لويل ، ماساتشوستس. يقوم الطلاب بتخزين المخزون واختيار الأطعمة والسلع المنزلية أثناء ملء طلبات العملاء.

جمعية بيبودي التاريخية، بيبودي ، ماجستير. يقوم الطلاب بمسح المستندات والصور التاريخية وإدخال البيانات وإعداد الرسائل البريدية. 

مطعم سالفاتور الإيطالي، لورانس ماجستير. يقوم الطلاب بغسل الأطباق (أطباق الغداء والأواني والمقالي) وتقسيم الطعام والمسح وإنشاء مجموعات أدوات فضية لفعاليات تقديم الطعام. 

ستونهام لطب الأسنان، ستونهام ماساتشوستس. يساعد الطلاب في إعداد الرسائل البريدية للمكتب (حشو الأظرف وإضافة ملصقات وطوابع العناوين) وتجميع أكياس هدايا صحة الأسنان للمرضى (فرشاة أسنان ومعجون أسنان وخيط تنظيف وغسول للفم).

 

الخدمات السكنية

بالنسبة للطلاب الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين ثلاثة إلى 22 عامًا ، والذين تتطلب أهداف برنامج التعليم الفردي (IEP) الخاص بهم بيئة تعليمية علاجية ومنظمة على مدار 24 ساعة ، تقدم Melmark New England مواضع سكنية / تعليمية داخل واحد من ستة منازل جماعية. نحن نلتزم بالتدخل القائم على الأدلة في تحليل السلوك التطبيقي (ABA) والتعليم الخاص وتنمية الطفل. يسمح منهجنا المخصص لفريق الطالب التعليمي بدمج الأهداف والغايات لكل طالب في خطط الدروس والأنشطة اليومية.

 

داخل كل منزل ، تحت الإشراف الدقيق للموظفين المدربين تدريباً جيداً الحاصلين على درجة البكالوريوس أو أعلى ، يعمل الأطفال على الرعاية الذاتية ، ووقت الفراغ ، والمهنية ، والحياة اليومية ، وأهداف برنامج التعليم الفردي المجتمعي في جو عائلي. يستمتع الأطفال بأنشطة اللعب في الهواء الطلق وغرفة الترفيه. تعتبر النزهات حدثًا منتظمًا وتشمل أنشطة مثل الرحلات إلى المنتزه والأفلام والحفلات الموسيقية في الهواء الطلق وتسوق البقالة وغيرها من مناطق الجذب المحلية.

 

على غرار برنامج المدرسة النهارية لدينا ، يوجد في كل منزل طاقم عمل ABA بنسبة 1: 2 إلى نسبة الطلاب (أو نسبة 1: 1 من موظفي ABA إلى نسبة الطلاب إذا تم تحديدها بواسطة IEP) ، ونسبة 1: 4 لساعات النوم. يشرف على البرنامج السكني كبار الموظفين الحاصلين على درجات وشهادات متقدمة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يتم دعم المنازل من خلال دعم تمريضي عند الطلب على مدار 24 ساعة ، بالإضافة إلى الدعم الإداري والسريري.

 

يعد لم شمل الأسرة هدفًا أساسيًا لجميع الطلاب المقيمين. تتلقى العائلات تدريبًا مستمرًا من أجل الاستعداد بنجاح لفترات إغلاق المدرسة مع أطفالهم. هدفنا لكل طفل ، عند الاقتضاء ، هو العودة إلى منزل الأسرة أو إلى بيئة أقل تقييدًا في أسرع وقت ممكن. يتعين على العائلات القيام بزيارات منزلية مرة واحدة في الشهر وفترات إغلاق المدرسة.

 

خدمات الاستشارة والتدخل السريري

مركز ميلمارك للتنمية الاجتماعية والسلوكية 

يوفر هذا البرنامج التقييمات والتقييمات وخدمات الدعم للأفراد الذين يعانون من اضطرابات طيف التوحد واضطرابات النمو العصبي والسلوك الصعب الشديد وغيرها من الملفات الشخصية المعقدة. تقدم Melmark New England مجموعة متنوعة من الخدمات الاستشارية السلوكية والتعليمية للطلاب وأولياء الأمور والمعلمين والمهنيين. موظفو الاستشارات لدينا إما حاصلون على درجة الماجستير أو الدكتوراه معتمدين ، ومرخصين (أو مؤهلين لمجلس الإدارة) ، ومحللي سلوك مع مستوى عالٍ من الخبرة والخبرة. يمكن تقديم خدمات الاستشارة الخاصة بطفل معين أو موضوع أو فصل دراسي أو برنامج تعليمي أو منطقة تعليمية ويتم توفيرها مع التركيز على التعاون والممارسة القائمة على الأدلة. يتم تقديم الاستشارات والخدمات المباشرة من خلال الأجور الخاصة وموارد التمويل القائمة على التأمين ، ويتم تقديمها داخل المنزل والمركز والمجتمعات المحلية. يقدم قسم الاستشارات لدينا أيضًا مجموعة متنوعة من التدريبات وفرص التطوير المهني وورش العمل. تم تصميم جميع خدماتنا لتلبية الاحتياجات الفريدة للأفراد الذين نخدمهم بدرجة عالية من الخبرة السريرية والاحتراف والأخلاق والنزاهة.

 

بناءً على طلب أولياء الأمور أو المناطق التعليمية ، فإن فريق الاستشارات في Melmark New England قادر على تقديم مجموعة متنوعة من التقييمات وخدمات التدخل السريري للمساعدة في تطوير وتقديم خدمات تعليمية فعالة. يمكن تقديم هذه الخدمات في مدرسة Andover الخاصة بنا ، في بيئة المدرسة العامة أو في الموقع في منزل الطالب.  

 

وتشمل هذه: 

  • التقييم السلوكي الوظيفي / التحليل الوظيفي 
  • تصميم برنامج الطالب التربوي والسلوكي المستقل
  • تصميم برنامج تعليمي وسلوكي على مستوى المنطقة
  • تطوير المناهج
  • تدريبات التطوير المهني عبر مجموعة متنوعة من المواضيع
  • "سنوات لا تصدق" تدريب الوالدين الفردي والجماعي
  • برنامج تدريب فني السلوك المسجل
  • الخدمة المباشرة باستخدام تحليل السلوك التطبيقي الممول من القطاع الخاص والتأمين
  • BCBA / BCaBA للإشراف والإرشاد
  • التقييم النفسي العصبي
  • تقييم الوصاية
  • المساعدة في تخطيط الانتقال
  • تقييم المهارات الاجتماعية
  • استشارة المساعدة الفنية
  • تدريب الوالدين الفردي والجماعي
  • العلاج الفردي للآباء
  • العلاج الفردي للأطفال والمراهقين
  • تعليم فردي في المهارات الاجتماعية / السلوكية
  • مجموعات المهارات الاجتماعية 
  • تسهيل مواعيد اللعب
  • الإشراف على خدمات ABA
  • استشارة سلوكية للعائلات

 

يرجى الاتصال بنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات حول خدمات الاستشارة والتدريب والتقييم والتدخل السريري لدينا على Consult@melmarkne.org  أو 978-654-4300.

 

الخدمات المساعدة والرعاية الصحية

لتلبية الاحتياجات الفردية لطلابنا ، وأفراد البالغين اليوم والأفراد المقيمين ، يعمل المتخصصون في الخدمات الصحية المتحالفة لدينا جنبًا إلى جنب مع المعلمين والموظفين المحترفين الآخرين.

 

علاج النطق واللغةيتواجد أخصائيو علاج النطق واللغة في طاقم العمل لتقديم تدريب مبكر على اللغة لطلابنا الذين يتسمون باللفظ وغير اللفظي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يقدمون تدريبًا مستمرًا في مجالات القراءة والتواصل الاجتماعي واللعب ، وعند الاقتضاء ، استخدام أنظمة الاتصال المعززة البديلة. يتم تقديم الخدمات من خلال نموذج استشاري أو مباشر.

 

علاج بالممارسة يقوم المعالجون المهنيون لدينا بتزويد الطلاب بالتدريب على الاحتياجات الحركية الدقيقة واحتياجات الكتابة ومهارات الحياة اليومية والروتين المحلي ومهارات تناول الوجبات بما في ذلك إعداد الوجبات. يتم تقديم الخدمات من خلال نموذج استشاري أو مباشر.

 

علاج بدني :  يساعد المعالجون الفيزيائيون لدينا الطلاب في تلبية الاحتياجات الحركية الإجمالية والتنسيق والتخطيط الحركي والتوازن. يتم تقديم الخدمات من خلال نموذج استشاري أو مباشر.

 

خدمات الرعاية الصحية:  يتكون طاقم التمريض لدينا من ممرضات مسجلات يتمتعن بخبرة في العمل مع السكان ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة. يشرف هؤلاء المتخصصون المتفانون على الصحة العامة لطلابنا بما في ذلك تنسيق عيادات الإنفلونزا والسمع والبصر وطب الأسنان في الموقع. كما يقومون بتنسيق الرعاية الطبية الروتينية للطلاب المقيمين ، والتي يقدمها طبيب باطني أسبوعيًا في الموقع.

MNE Children’s Services

MNE Children's Services

Early Childhood Program

Melmark New England is an approved private school, licensed by the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education. The Early Childhood (EC) Program serves students, ages three to 10, who require an intensive, individualized behavioral approach designed in an educationally appropriate learning environment due to a diagnosis of autism spectrum disorders and other intellectual and developmental disabilities, which may be secondary to complex behavioral profiles.

 

Our teachers adhere to evidence-based intervention in Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA), special education and child development. Our personalized curriculum allows the student’s educational team to integrate the goals and objectives for each student into lesson plans and daily activities. The result is a rich, meaningful learning experience for each child based on his or her level of readiness. Curriculum focus in the EC Program include:  early learner skills, communication skills, toileting skills, feeding skills, and behavior development.

 

We offer:

  • Board Certified Behavior Analysts (BCBAs) with over 10 years of experience oversee classroom supervision, ensuring quality control while providing additional resources to classroom teachers
  • Master’s-level special education teachers for each classroom
  • Specially designed classrooms for early learners
  • Instructional arrangements with a 1:2 ABA staff-student ratio (or 1:1 ABA staff-student ratio, if designated by the IEP)
  • Nursing staff for health needs
  • Gym, library and cafeteria
  • Playground and attractive outdoor walking areas
  • Bathrooms with child-size fixtures
  • Evidence-based teaching strategies
  • A 12-month (237-day) school year calendar with 10 holidays and three school vacation weeks
  • Specially designed curriculum to meet Common Core standards in special education
  • Specially designed individual and group instruction provided in anticipation of transitions to inclusive settings including back to public school
  • On-going assessment of skills to aid in goal setting and weekly student progress monitoring
  • Extensive utilization of technology to facilitate learning, including augmentative and alternative communication (AAC) devices, SMART Boards®, etc. 

 

Speech-language, occupational, and physical therapists work side by side with classroom teachers, facilitating the extension of these important services. To ensure the highest levels of quality and consistency, teachers and ancillary clinical staff receive close supervision and support from middle- and senior-level clinical staff.

 

School Age Program

Melmark New England is an approved private school, licensed by the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, specializing in serving students, ages 11 to 21, who require an intensive, individualized behavioral approach designed in an educationally appropriate learning environment due to a diagnosis of autism spectrum disorders and other intellectual and developmental disabilities, which may be secondary to complex behavioral profiles.

 

Our teachers adhere to evidence-based intervention in Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA), special education and child development. Our personalized curriculum allows the student’s educational team to integrate the goals and objectives for each student into lesson plans and daily activities. The result is a rich, meaningful learning experience for each child based on his or her level of readiness.

 

We offer:

  • Board Certified Behavior Analysts (BCBAs), with over 10 years of experience, overseeing classroom supervision, ensuring quality control while providing additional resources to classroom teachers
  • Master’s-level special education teachers for each classroom
  • Specially designed classrooms for students with intensive behavioral and learning needs
  • On demand and alternative Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) testing
  • Pre-vocational and vocational training; volunteer and community work opportunities
  • Nursing staff for health needs
  • Gym, library and cafeteria
  • Playground and attractive outdoor walking areas
  • A 12-month (237-day) school year calendar with 10 holidays and three school vacation weeks
  • Specially designed individual and group instruction provided in anticipation of transitions to inclusive settings including back to public school
  • On-going assessment of skills to aid in goal setting and weekly student progress monitoring
  • Extensive utilization of technology to facilitate learning including Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC) devices, SMART Boards®, etc.

 

Melmark New England’s After School Program is available to qualified school-age students enrolled in our day program. This program is at an additional cost.

 

Speech-language, occupational, and physical therapists work side-by-side with classroom teachers, facilitating the extension of these important services. To ensure the highest level of quality and consistency, teachers and ancillary clinical staff receive close supervision and support from middle- and senior-level clinical staff.

 

Vocational Services

It is discouraging to note that 70 percent of individuals with autism are unemployed or underemployed. When a student is offered practical vocational skills training, his or her probability of meaningful employment in adulthood is greatly improved. With a job in his or her adult years, an individual’s quality of life is greatly enhanced. To this end, Melmark has an active and growing vocational training program for our adolescent students. It takes sophisticated programming, patience and determination on the part of our teachers for a student to progress from learning in a specialized classroom to working in the community. We strive to reach this level of achievement with every one of our students.  

 

Here is a sampling of the internal and external job placements secured for our students:

 

Melmark New England and the Melmark Café, Andover, MA. On a daily basis, students prep and clean the kitchen and cafeteria, perform a variety of duties in the dishwashing area and operate as cashier manning the Apple-based point of sale system for staff and visitors ordering lunch. Students also conduct recycling efforts throughout the school, including sorting, bagging and returning cans and bottles for deposit refunds. At the student-run MelMart, students, staff and visitors can purchase snacks and beverages that have been purchased, priced, stocked and sold by vocational students. 

 

99 Restaurant, Tewksbury MA. Students portion, weigh and package food (vegetable or pasta). 

Claddagh Pub, Lawrence MA. Students do basic cleaning and maintaining condiment supplies. 

Friend Lumber, Hudson, NH. Students work in the yard stacking lumber and assist in ensuring a clean, organized working environment.

Hampton Inn, Haverhill, MA. Students work in the breakfast area stocking plates, napkins and condiments for guests. Students also provide light housekeeping of the area and adjacent lobby.

Jackson Lumber & Millwork, Lawrence, MA. Students work in the yard stacking lumber and assist in ensuring a clean, organized working environment.

Konjoian’s Greenhouse, Andover MA. Students prepare soil for potting and participate in the cultivation and planting of seasonal plants, flowers and herbs. Students assist with general greenhouse duties that can include sweeping, preparing products for retail sale and other duties as assigned. 

Lowe’s Home Improvement, Lowell, MA. Students serve as facility service associate trainees.

Merrimack Valley Food Bank, Lowell, MA. Students stock inventory and select foods and household goods while filling orders for clients.

Peabody Historical Society, Peabody, MA. Students scan historical documents and pictures, enter data, and prepare mailings. 

Salvatore’s Italian Restaurant, Lawrence MA. Students do dish washing (lunch plates, pots and pans), portioning food, mopping and creating silverware set ups for catering events. 

Stoneham Dental, Stoneham MA. Students assist in preparation of mailings for the office (stuffing envelopes, adding address labels and stamps) and assembling dental health goodie bags for patients (toothbrush, toothpaste, floss, mouthwash).

 

Residential Services

For students, ages three to 22, whose Individualized Education Program (IEP) objectives require a 24-hour therapeutic and structured learning environment, Melmark New England offers residential/educational placements within one of six group homes. We adhere to evidence-based intervention in Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA), special education and child development. Our personalized curriculum allows the student’s educational team to integrate the goals and objectives for each student into lesson plans and daily activities.

 

Within each home, under the close supervision of well-trained staff with bachelor’s degrees or higher, children work on self-care, leisure time, vocational, daily living and community IEP goals in a homelike atmosphere. Children enjoy outdoor play activities and a recreation room. Outings are a regular occurrence and include activities such as trips to the park, movies, outdoor concerts, grocery shopping and other local attractions.

 

Similar to our day school program, each home is staffed with a 1:2 ABA staff to student ratio (or 1:1 ABA staff to student ratio if designated by the IEP), and a 1:4 ratio for asleep hours. The residential program is supervised by senior staff with advanced degrees and certifications. In addition, the homes are supported by 24-hour on-call nursing support, as well as administrative and senior clinical support.

 

Family reunification is an essential goal for all residential students. Families receive ongoing training in order to successfully be prepared for school closing periods with their child. Our goal for each child, when appropriate, is to return to the family’s home or a less restrictive environment as soon as possible. Families are required to have home visits one time per month and school closing periods.

 

Consultation and Clinical Intervention Services

Melmark Center for Social and Behavioral Development 

This program provides evaluations, assessments and support services to individuals with autism spectrum disorders, neurodevelopmental disorders, severe challenging behavior and other complex profiles. Melmark New England provides a variety of behavioral and educational consultative services to students, parents, educators and professionals. Our consultation staff members are either master’s or doctoral-level board certified, and licensed (or board eligible), behavior analysts with a high level of experience and expertise. Consultation services can be provided specific to a particular child, topic, classroom, educational program or school district and are provided with an emphasis on collaboration and evidence-based practice. Consultation and direct services are offered through private pay and insurance-based funding resources, and are provided within home, center and community-based settings. Our consultation department also offers a variety of trainings, professional development opportunities and workshops. All of our services are tailored to meet the unique needs of the individuals we serve with a high degree of clinical expertise, professionalism, ethics and integrity.

 

At the request of either parents or school districts, Melmark New England’s consultation team is able to provide a variety of evaluations and clinical intervention services to assist with the development and delivery of effective educational services. These services can be provided at our Andover school, in the public school setting or onsite in the student’s home.  

 

These include: 

  • Functional Behavioral Assessment/Functional Analysis 
  • Independent Student Educational and Behavioral Program Design
  • District-wide Educational and Behavioral Program Design
  • Curriculum Development
  • Professional Development Trainings Across A Variety of Topics
  • “Incredible Years” Individualized and Group Parent Training
  • Registered Behavior Technician Training Program
  • Direct Service using Applied Behavior Analysis Funded Privately and by Insurance
  • BCBA/BCaBA Supervision and Mentorship
  • Neuropsychological Evaluation
  • Guardianship Evaluation
  • Transition Planning Assistance
  • Social-Skills Assessment
  • Technical Assistance Consultation
  • Individualized and Group Parent Training
  • Individual Therapy for Parents
  • Individual Therapy for Children and Adolescents
  • Individualized Instruction in Social/Behavior Skills
  • Social-Skills Groups 
  • Facilitation of Play Dates
  • Supervision of ABA Services
  • Behavioral Consultation to Families

 

Please contact us for more information about our consultation, training, evaluation, and clinical intervention services at consultation@melmarkne.org  or 978-654-4300.

 

Ancillary Services and Health Care

To meet the individualized needs of our students, adult day and residential individuals, our allied health services professionals work alongside teachers and other professional staff.

 

Speech and Language TherapySpeech and language therapists are on staff to provide early language training for our students who are verbal and non-verbal. In addition, they provide continued training in the areas of reading, social-communication, play and, when appropriate, the use of alternative, augmentative communication systems. Services are provided through a consultative or direct model.

 

Occupational Therapy Our occupational therapists provide students with training for fine motor needs, writing needs, daily living skills, domestic routines and mealtime skills including meal preparation. Services are provided through a consultative or direct model.

 

Physical Therapy:  Our physical therapists aid students with gross motor needs, coordination, motor planning and balance. Services are provided through a consultative or direct model.

 

Health Care Services:  Our nursing staff is comprised of Registered Nurses who have experience working with a special needs population. These dedicated professionals oversee the general health of our student population including coordinating on-site flu, hearing, vision and dental clinics. They also coordinate routine medical care for residential students, provided onsite weekly by a trained internist.