新学校奠基

梅尔马克和班克罗夫特建设新学校设施破土动工

11 年 2020 月 XNUMX 日 / 宾夕法尼亚州伯温

 

Melmark 已与 Bancroft Construction 合作,在其服务部门建造新的学校设施 宾夕法尼亚伯温. 新大楼的奠基仪式将提供最先进且完全无障碍的学习和工作环境。 周三,10月14th. 梅尔马克新学校的建设预计将在 2021 学年开始时完成,这将使该组织能够增加人口普查,为更多有需要的家庭提供服务。 学校的最终目标是为学生提供最好的成绩。 

 

“这座新校舍将为学习和技能发展提供尽可能最好的环境和尖端工具,帮助需要和值得梅尔马克专业特殊教育服务的儿童取得最佳成果,”说 丽塔·加德纳, MPH, LABA, BCBA, Melmark 总裁兼首席执行官。

 

梅尔马克学校是一所经批准的私立特殊教育学校,获得宾夕法尼亚州教育部许可,专门为 21 至 XNUMX 岁的学生提供服务,他们需要在适合教育的学习环境中设计行为框架的强化、个性化教育方法。 在梅尔马克学校就读的学生被诊断为自闭症谱系障碍和其他智力和发育障碍,这可能是复杂行为特征的次要因素。

 

新大楼将是一座 65,000 平方英尺的两层结构,旨在满足学生群体的无障碍需求以及 ADA 要求。 前两层将可以使用年级级别的教室和其他资源。 新大楼将毗邻梅尔马克目前的教学楼,将包括 20 间教室、临床支持空间、办公室、完全无障碍的洗手间、为学生提供更有意义的社交互动机会的午餐室,以及一个专业发展和培训中心,梅尔马克继续强调高技能劳动力。

 

在奠基仪式上,加德纳谈到了该组织对这座新建筑的财务承诺与梅尔马克在循证特殊教育服务领域闻名的黄金标准之间的平行关系。 “该项目认识到,梅尔马克特殊教育项目的卓越质量必须与类似质量的学校环境相匹配,”加德纳说。 她补充说:“这座新建筑强调了梅尔马克所服务的儿童和成人护理点的资源,他们是该组织使命的核心。”

 

学校正在通过慈善支持建设,由家庭、企业合作伙伴、基金会、活动收益和其他主要捐助者捐赠。 有关支持该项目的信息,请联系 Advanceops@melmark.org.

 

由于学校人口的高度敏感性,班克罗夫特已经并将继续非常小心,以避免对学校当前的运营造成任何干扰。 保持安全的环境和满足所有人的需求始终是班克罗夫特的首要任务,但在当前的 COVID-19 大流行中尤其如此。 施工人员继续遵守疾病控制与预防中心 (CDC) 建议的所有社会疏远和病毒缓解措施。 在 COVID-19 大流行期间,梅尔马克采取了高度警惕的病毒缓解措施,包括遵循州政府于 2020 年 31 月关闭面对面学校课程的要求。梅尔马克学校于 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日恢复面对面服务。

New School Groundbreaking

Melmark And Bancroft Construction Break Ground On New School Facility

November 11, 2020 / Berwyn, PA

 

Melmark has partnered with Bancroft Construction to construct a new school facility at its service division in Berwyn, Pennsylvania. Groundbreaking for the new building, which will provide state-of-the-art and fully accessible learning and working environments, took place on Wednesday, October 14th. Construction of Melmark’s new school is expected to be complete by the start of the 2021 academic year and will allow the organization to increase census, providing services to more families in need. The School’s ultimate goal is to provide best outcomes for its students. 

 

“This new school building will provide the best possible environment and cutting edge tools for learning and skills growth, helping children who need and deserve Melmark’s specialized special education services reach their best outcomes,” said Rita M. Gardner, M.P.H., LABA, BCBA, Melmark President and CEO.

 

The Melmark School is an approved private special education school, licensed by the Pennsylvania Department of Education and specializing in serving students, ages five to 21, who require an intensive, individualized educational approach with a behavioral framework designed in an educationally appropriate learning environment. Students who attend the Melmark School have a diagnosis of autism spectrum disorders and other intellectual and developmental disabilities, which may be secondary to complex behavioral profiles.

 

The new building will be a 65,000 square foot, two-story structure designed to meet the accessibility needs of the student population as well as ADA requirements. The first two floors will have grade-level access to classrooms and other resources. The new building will adjoin Melmark’s current school building and will include 20 classrooms, clinical support spaces, offices, fully accessible restrooms, a lunchroom to provide more meaningful social interaction opportunities for students, and a professional development and training center as Melmark continues to emphasize a highly skilled workforce.

 

During the groundbreaking ceremony, Gardner spoke on the parallel between the organization’s financial commitment to this new building and the gold standard Melmark is known for in the field of evidence-based special education services. “This project recognizes that the exceptional quality of Melmark’s special education programs must be matched with a similar quality school environment,” said Gardner. She added, “This new building emphasizes the resources at the point of care for the children and adults Melmark serves, who are at the heart of the organization’s mission.”

 

The school is being constructed through philanthropic support, with donations from families, corporate partners, foundations, event proceeds, and other major donors. For information about supporting the project, contact advancementops@melmark.org.

 

Due to the highly sensitive nature of the school population, Bancroft has taken and will continue to take great care to avoid any disruption to the school’s current operations. Maintaining a safe environment and accommodating all individuals’ needs is always Bancroft’s top priority, but is especially so amidst the current COVID-19 pandemic. Construction crews continue to adhere to all social distancing and virus mitigation measures recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). During the COVID-19 pandemic, Melmark’s hyper-vigilant virus mitigation measures included following the state mandate to close in-person school programs in March of 2020. The Melmark School returned to in-person services on August 31st.