发展史

Paul 和 Mildred Krentel 于 1965 年建立了 Melmark 作为发育障碍儿童之家,当时他们的小女儿 Melissa 出生时患有唐氏综合症。 1966 年,在朋友和家人的经济帮助下,克伦特一家搬进了宾夕法尼亚州伯温的一座拥有 35 个房间的豪宅。 最初的任务是为梅丽莎和其他发育障碍儿童提供一个安全的养育之家。 随着这些孩子的成长和需要正规教育,Krentels 开设了一所经批准的私立特殊教育学校,该学校已经扩大了数倍,以满足额外入学的需求。 宾夕法尼亚州梅尔马克 现在有16间教室在使用。

 

在接下来的 30 年里,在朋友、家人和同事的慈善支持下,梅尔马克的服务和资源显着增加。 梅尔马克新英格兰1998 年在马萨诸塞州沃本开设的社区型私立学校。个人资料。 该团队的教育专业知识和临床系统促进了为患有 ASD 和复杂行为特征的学生提供的服务的扩展,这些学生现在在 Melmark 宾夕法尼亚州服务。

 

2018 年秋季,Melmark 再次扩张,将其教育和临床服务模式带到卡罗莱纳州。 梅尔马克卡罗莱纳 在北卡罗来纳州夏洛特开设,以满足对诊断为 ASD、智力和发育障碍以及共病精神健康障碍的儿童的大量服务需求。

History

Paul and Mildred Krentel established Melmark in 1965 as a home for children with developmental disabilities when their youngest daughter, Melissa, was born with Down syndrome. In 1966, with the financial help of friends and family, the Krentels moved into a 35-room mansion in Berwyn, Pennsylvania. The initial mission was to provide a safe and nurturing home for Melissa and other children with developmental disabilities. As these children grew and required formal education, the Krentels opened an approved, private special education school that has expanded several times to meet demands for additional enrollments. Melmark Pennsylvania now has 16 classrooms in service.

 

Over the next 30 years, with philanthropic support from friends, families, and associates, Melmark’s services and resources increased significantly. Melmark New England, a community-based, approved private school, opened in Woburn, Massachusetts in 1998. The New England leadership team brought many years of clinical and administrative expertise in service to children with autism spectrum disorders (ASD) and other neurological disorders resulting in complex behavioral profiles. The educational expertise and clinical systems from this team facilitated the expansion of services for students with ASD and complex behavioral profiles now served at Melmark Pennsylvania.

 

In fall 2018, Melmark expanded once again by bringing its educational and clinical service model to the Carolinas. Melmark Carolinas was opened in Charlotte, North Carolina to satisfy the significant demand for services for children diagnosed with ASD, intellectual and developmental disabilities, and co-morbid mental health disorders.