为卡罗莱纳州服务

新学校让服务更贴近家庭

2019 年 XNUMX 月 - 北卡罗来纳州夏洛特

 

Melmark, Inc. 是为患有自闭症谱系障碍 (ASD) 和其他智力和发育障碍的儿童和成人提供教育、临床和住宿服务的全国领先者,宣布与夏洛特/梅克伦堡学区。

 

26 年 2018 月 57 日,疾病控制与预防中心 (CDC) 发布了其两年一次的更新报告,估计北卡罗来纳州每年有五分之一的儿童被诊断出患有 ASD。 这一新估计比之前报告的高 15%。 根据北卡罗来纳州公共教育部上个月发布的信息,夏洛特及周边县有 301,772 名学生。 该州教育部统计了南卡罗来纳州附近县的另外 60,680 名学生。 粗略计算,这些县有 6,366 名自闭症学生。

 

鉴于发病率一直居高不下,并且对目前北卡罗来纳州缺乏的专家临床和教育计划的需求不断增加,Melmark 一直在与夏洛特/梅克伦堡学校、特殊儿童计划的教育工作者和临床医生团队合作, 发展一所经批准的非营利性特殊需求学校。 第一批教室将为夏洛特/梅克伦堡学区的儿童以及居住在北卡罗来纳州和南卡罗来纳州附近社区的儿童提供服务。 这个特殊教育计划对学生在家教学之前的限制较少。

 

根据 2017 年 Endrew F. v. Douglas County School District 的决定,个性化教育计划 (IEP) 应该“合理计算,使孩子能够根据孩子的情况取得进步”。 Melmark 的计划将重点关注那些由于严重的教育障碍、具有挑战性的行为或意识到他们需要额外的支持才能取得行为和学业进步而没有取得足够进步的孩子。 在 Melmark 专业人员的支持和专业知识的支持下,我们将利用经过验证和建立的教育和临床模式,为卡罗莱纳州的这一人群提供高质量的综合特殊教育服务。

 

在 Rita M. Gardner、MPH、LABA、BCBA、Melmark New England 创始人和 Melmark 总裁兼首席执行官的领导下,两名前 Melmark New England 员工将监督这项计划。 Bradley S. Stevenson 博士,BCBA,是项目管理和临床服务总监,Keri Bethune 博士,BCBA-D 是教育服务总监。 两人都获得了博士学位。 拥有北卡罗来纳大学夏洛特分校特殊教育学位,并分别获得 K-12 适应课程和严重/严重残疾 K-12 的 NC 教学许可证。

Serving the Carolinas

New School Brings Services Closer to Home

May 2019 – Charlotte, NC

 

Melmark, Inc., a national leader in educational, clinical and residential services for children and adults with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) and other intellectual and developmental disabilities, announces the establishment of evidence-based special education services, in collaboration with the Charlotte/Mecklenburg school district.

 

On April 26, 2018, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) released its biennial update estimating that one in 57 children in North Carolina are diagnosed with ASD each year. This new estimate is 15% higher than previously reported. According to information released last month by NC’s Department of Public Instruction, 301,772 students were served in Charlotte and the surrounding counties. An additional 60,680 students in nearby counties in South Carolina have been counted by the state’s Department of Education. A rough calculation would suggest that there are 6,366 students with autism in those same counties.

 

Given the consistently high incidence rate, and the increased need for expert clinical and educational programs which are currently lacking in North Carolina, Melmark has been working in collaboration with a team of educators and clinicians affiliated with the Charlotte/Mecklenburg Schools, Programs for Exceptional Children, to develop an approved non-profit special needs school. The first classrooms will serve children from the Charlotte/Mecklenburg School District, as well as children residing in nearby communities in North Carolina and South Carolina. This special education program will be a less restrictive option for students prior to homebound instruction.

 

Following the 2017 Endrew F. v. Douglas County School District decision, the Individualized Education Program (IEP) should be “reasonably calculated to enable a child to make progress in light of the child’s circumstances.” Melmark’s program will focus on those children not making adequate progress due to the severity of their educational disability, challenging behaviors or the realization that they require additional supports to make behavioral and academic progress. With the support and expertise of Melmark’s professional staff, we will utilize a proven and established educational and clinical model to provide high quality, integrated special education services to this population in the Carolinas.

 

Under the leadership of Rita M. Gardner, M.P.H., LABA, BCBA, Melmark New England Founder and Melmark President and CEO, two former Melmark New England employees will oversee this initiative. Bradley S. Stevenson, Ph.D., BCBA, is the Director of Program Administration and Clinical Services and Keri Bethune, Ph.D., BCBA-D is the Director of Educational Services. Both earned their Ph.D. degrees in Special Education from the University of North Carolina-Charlotte and have NC teaching licensure in K-12 Adapted Curriculum and Severely/Profoundly Disabled K- 12, respectively.