2021 年舒梅克高尔夫精英赛

科学领袖为自闭症和残障人士筹集资金

 

在 COVID-19 大流行期间,当其他筹款活动显着缩小或取消时,一年一度惠及梅尔马克的高尔夫锦标赛背后的志愿者仍然致力于为非营利组织的计划筹集资金。 Hubert JP Schoemaker Classic 顾问委员会在其第 314,600 届会议上筹集了 16 美元th 年度高尔夫筹款活动,将社会疏远措施和病毒缓解最佳实践融入赛事的各个方面。 该活动于 11 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日星期一在两个地点举行 - 费城乡村俱乐部和 Gulph Mills 高尔夫俱乐部。

 

Schoemaker Classic 咨询委员会的成员是 Melmark 的坚定支持者,Melmark 是一个非营利组织,为被诊断患有自闭症和智力/发育障碍的儿童和成人提供服务。 Melmark 位于 Berwyn 的宾夕法尼亚州服务部门在 COVID-19 大流行期间承担了重大的意外财务成本。 与位于马萨诸塞州安多弗和北卡罗来纳州夏洛特的其他服务部门一起,自 5 年 2020 月中旬以来,该组织已发生超过 XNUMX 万美元的计划外支出和收入损失。防护设备 (PPE)、为那些与病毒呈阳性病例一起工作的员工支付英雄工资、增加消毒措施、购买远程学习技术设备以及重新配置项目工作空间以确保最佳的病毒缓解。

 

Melmark 总裁兼首席执行官 Rita M. Gardner、Schoemaker Classic 顾问委员会成员和 Melmark 董事会成员 Denny Willson 以及 Anne Schoemaker。

Melmark 总裁兼首席执行官 Rita M. Gardner、MPH、LABA、BCBA 表示 Schoemaker Classic 顾问委员会坚定不移的支持恰逢其时。 加德纳说:“对于所有非营利性人类服务组织来说,这是一个充满挑战的时期,尤其是那些提供面对面护理的组织,以及在整个 COVID-19 大流行期间处于特殊教育和集体护理服务第一线的组织。” 她补充说:“大流行在本已资金不足的领域创造了新的障碍,现在比以往任何时候都更需要我们捐助界的支持。” “生命科学行业这群令人难以置信的领导者有自己与 COVID-19 相关的战斗要打,但他们正在为 16th 这一事件的周年纪念日,我对他们年复一年所取得的成就感到敬畏。 我们非常感谢他们一直以来的支持。 每年,经典咨询委员会都会继承休伯特·舒梅克 (Hubert Schoemaker) 改善许多人生活的丰富遗产。”

 

Schoemaker Classic 咨询委员会联合主席 Rich Decker 谈到了此次活动的重要性。 “我们继续 Hubert Schoemaker 的工作以帮助确保 Melmark 服务的持续实力和活力是不可或缺的。” Decker 是 Simkiss 和 Block 的合伙人。 他解释了为什么他和他的顾问委员会的同事们仍然坚定不移地致力于这次活动。 “梅尔马克的项目在很大程度上依赖于筹集的资金,我想不出更好的方式让生命科学行业在我们一生中这个独特的时期团结起来。 休伯特·舒梅克改善了数百万人的生活。 不仅仅是通过他的工作和对生物技术行业的贡献,而是作为一名慈善家。 我们很感激有机会支持如此有意义的使命。”

 

关于舒梅克经典

Schoemaker Classic 由 Ahrensdorf and Associates 总裁 Lee Ahrensdorf 于 2006 年创立,以纪念已故的休伯特 JP Schoemaker。 Schoemaker 是该地区生命科学界的领导者和倡导者,也是 Centocor 的创始人。 Schoemaker 的大女儿在梅尔马克生活了 28 年,她以回馈社区而闻名,尤其是对有特殊需要的儿童和成人。

 

除 Decker 外,咨询委员会还由埃森哲董事总经理 Brad Michel 和 Key BIOPHARMA Partners 主席 Shawn O'Brien 共同领导。 如需咨询委员会成员的完整列表,请访问 https://schoemakerclassic.com/about-the-advisory-board/.

Schoemaker Golf Classic 2021

Science Leaders Raise Funds for Individuals with Autism and Disabilities

 

Amidst the COVID-19 Pandemic, when other fundraising events were significantly downsized or eliminated, the volunteers behind an annual golf tournament benefiting Melmark have remained dedicated in their mission to raise funds for the not-for-profit organization’s programs. The Hubert J.P. Schoemaker Classic Advisory Board raised $314,600 at its 16th annual golf fundraiser, weaving social distancing measures and virus mitigation best practices into all aspects of the event. The event took place on Monday, October 11, 2021 in two locations- The Philadelphia Country Club and Gulph Mills Golf Club.

 

Members of the Schoemaker Classic Advisory Board are steadfast supporters of Melmark, a not-for-profit organization serving children and adults diagnosed with autism and intellectual/developmental disabilities. Melmark’s Pennsylvania service division, located in Berwyn, has taken a significant unexpected financial costs amidst the COVID-19 pandemic. With other service divisions in Andover, Massachusetts and Charlotte, North Carolina, the organization has incurred more than $5 million in unplanned expenses and income losses since mid-March 2020. The losses and extra expenses are due to day program closures, the purchase of personal protective equipment (PPE), hero pay for those employees working with a positive case of the virus, increased sanitizing measures, the purchase of technological equipment for remote learning, and reconfiguring program work spaces to ensure optimal virus mitigation.

 

Rita M. Gardner, President and CEO of Melmark, Denny Willson, Schoemaker Classic Advisory Board member and Melmark Board Member and Anne Schoemaker.

Melmark President and CEO, Rita M. Gardner, M.P.H., LABA, BCBA says the Schoemaker Classic Advisory Board’s unwavering support could not come at a better time. “This has been a challenging time for all not-for-profit human service organizations especially those providing care in-person, and on the front line of special education and congregate care services throughout the COVID-19 pandemic,” said Gardner. “The pandemic has created new obstacles in an already underfunded field, and the support of our donor community is needed now more than ever,” she added. “This incredible group of leaders in the life sciences industry have their own COVID-19-related battles to fight, yet they are stepping up again for the 16th anniversary of this event, and I am in awe of what they are able to accomplish year after year. We are beyond grateful for their ongoing support. Every year, the Classic Advisory Committee carries on Hubert Schoemaker’s rich legacy of improving so many lives.”

 

Schoemaker Classic Advisory Board Co-Chair, Rich Decker, speaks of the importance of this event. “It is integral that we continue Hubert Schoemaker’s work to help ensure ongoing strength and vitality for Melmark’s services.” Decker is partner of Simkiss and Block. He explains why he and his peers on the advisory board remain steadfast in their dedication to this event. “The programs at Melmark depend a great deal on fundraised dollars, and I cannot think of a better way for the life sciences industry to pull together during this unique time in all of our lives. Hubert Schoemaker improved millions of lives. Not just through his work and contributions to the biotechnology industry, but as a philanthropist. We are grateful for the opportunity to support such a meaningful mission.”

 

About The Schoemaker Classic

The Schoemaker Classic was founded in 2006 by Lee Ahrensdorf, President of Ahrensdorf and Associates, in memory of the late Hubert J.P. Schoemaker. Schoemaker was a leader and advocate in the region’s life sciences community and founder of Centocor. Schoemaker, whose eldest daughter lived at Melmark for 28 years, was well known for giving back to the community, especially to children and adults with special needs.

 

In addition to Decker, the advisory board is led by co-chairs Brad Michel, Managing Director at Accenture, and Shawn O’Brien, Chairman at Key BIOPHARMA Partners. For a complete list of advisory board members, visit https://schoemakerclassic.com/about-the-advisory-board/.