劳伦斯·坎克罗

主席

 

拉里坎克罗自 2003 年起担任高级副总裁/芬威事务。这位在美国职业棒球大联盟 32 年的老将,包括在红袜队的 25 年,负责俱乐部与芬威附近企业的关系,确保记录的安全芬威举行音乐会的艺术家,并就芬威球场的改进与棒球场规划和发展部门进行磋商。 Cancro 还与公民和政府团体合作,确保俱乐部与社区之间进行公开对话。

 

在晋升之前,Cancro 自 1996 年 1985 月起担任销售和营销副总裁。他于 1990 年 XNUMX 月加入红袜队担任营销总监,并于 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月成为营销副总裁。

 

在 Cancro 担任销售和营销人员期间,红袜队创造了 13 个俱乐部赛季上座率记录,上座率比上个赛季增加了 1999 倍。 他发起了友好的芬威球迷计划,扩大了芬威球迷的食物选择,并产生了球迷的最爱,如“甜卡罗琳”和“脏水”。 他是 XNUMX 年红袜队全明星赛特别工作组的成员,并在创造吉祥物沃利绿色怪物™方面发挥了重要作用。

 

Cancro 是大波士顿会议和旅游局董事会成员,并担任其体育咨询委员会主席。 由于他在吸引与体育相关的会议和旅游业到波士顿方面所做的努力,他被授予了局的感谢精神奖。 他是富兰克林皮尔斯学院体育咨询委员会的成员。 他目前在波士顿大学医学院的访客委员会任职。 他和他的妻子 Luise 共同主持了 Assumption College 的家长委员会。 他曾在 Jimmy Fund 长期规划委员会任职,目前是大波士顿认知和发育障碍个人协会的指导委员会成员。 他于 2004 年 2006 月被授予 GBARC“年度人物”。他还是自闭症之声新英格兰分会的主席,并在国家董事会任职三年。 他是 Melmark-New England 的董事会成员。 2007 年春天,他荣获马萨诸塞州心理健康协会颁发的“同情心”奖。XNUMX 年,马萨诸塞州皮兰德罗中学授予他“I Migliori 奖”。

 

坎克罗曾在州长体育咨询委员会担任州长 Weld 和 Cellucci,目前在大众体育和娱乐委员会执行委员会任职。 他是波士顿世界杯足球赛主办委员会和 1996 年奥运会体操选拔赛咨询委员会的成员。 他是 1998 年 NCAA 一级冰球四强赛地方组织委员会的顾问委员会成员。 Cancro 曾在 MLB 的营销咨询委员会和广告咨询委员会任职。 从 1982 年到 85 年,他担任 MLB 研究委员会主席和 MLB 许可委员会主席。

 

坎克罗出生于纽约市,毕业于纽约州伊斯特切斯特的塔卡霍高中,并在那里长大。 他毕业于波士顿大学,获得心理学学士学位。 1978 年,他开始了职业棒球生涯,担任东部联盟泽西印第安人队的助理总经理,这是奥克兰 A 队的双 A 分公司。 他于 1979 年加入亚特兰大勇士队担任销售代表,并于 1981 年晋升为集团销售经理。 1983 年,他被任命为商品运营总监,负责创建棒球的第一个团队商品邮购目录。

 

Larry 与他的妻子 Luise 住在马萨诸塞州的安多弗。 他们有两个女儿,劳拉·玛丽和丽莎。

Lawrence Cancro

Chairman

 

Larry Cancro has served as Senior Vice President/Fenway Affairs since 2003. The veteran of 32 years in Major League Baseball, including 25 years with the Red Sox, is responsible for the club’s relationships with the businesses in the Fenway neighborhood, the securing of recording artists for concerts at Fenway, and consultation with the Ballpark Planning and Development Department on Fenway Park improvements. Cancro also works with civic and government groups to ensure open dialogue between the club and the community.

 

Prior to his promotion, Cancro was Vice President of Sales and Marketing since January 1996. He joined the Red Sox in February of 1985 as Director of Marketing and became Vice President of Marketing in February of 1990.

 

During Cancro’s tenure in sales and marketing, the Red Sox set six club season attendance records, and attendance increased from the previous season 13 times. He started the Friendly Fenway fan program that expanded fan food options at Fenway and also resulted in fan favorites like “Sweet Caroline” and “Dirty Water”. He was a member of the Red Sox 1999 All-Star Game Task Force and was instrumental in creating the mascot, Wally the Green Monster™.

 

Cancro is a member of the board of directors of the Greater Boston Convention and Visitors Bureau and serves as chairman of their sports advisory committee. He was awarded the Bureau’s Spirit of Appreciation Award for his efforts in attracting sports-related conventions and tourism to Boston. He is on the Sports Advisory Council for Franklin Pierce College. He currently serves on the Board of Visitors for the Boston University Medical School. He, along with his wife Luise, co-chaired the Parent’s Committee at Assumption College. He has served on the Jimmy Fund Long Range Planning Committee and is currently on the steering committee for The Greater Boston Association for Individuals with Cognitive and Developmental Disabilities. He was honored as GBARC “Man of the Year” in November 2004. He is also the President of the New England Chapter of Autism Speaks and served on the National Board of Directors for three years. He is a member of the Board of Directors for Melmark-New England.. In the spring of 2006 he was honored with the “Spirit of Compassion” award by the Massachusetts Association for Mental Health, Inc. In 2007, The Pirandello Lyceum of Massachusetts recognized him with the “I Migliori Award.”

 

Cancro served governors Weld and Cellucci on the Governor’s Sports Advisory Council and currently serves on the Executive Council of the Mass Sports and Entertainment Commission. He was on the Boston Host Committee for World Cup Soccer and the 1996 Olympic Gymnastics Trials Advisory Committee. He was on the Board of Advisors for the Local Organizing Committee for the 1998 NCAA Division I Ice Hockey Final Four. Cancro has served on MLB’s Marketing Advisory Committee and Advertising Advisory Committee. He served as chairman of MLB’s Research Committee and on MLB’s Licensing Committee from 1982-85.

 

Born in New York City, Cancro graduated from Tuckahoe High School in Eastchester, NY, where he was raised. He graduated from Boston University with a B.A. in psychology. In 1978 he began his career in pro baseball as an assistant general manager for the Eastern League Jersey Indians, Double-A affiliate of the Oakland A’s. He joined the Atlanta Braves as a sales representative in 1979, and in 1981, was promoted to group sales manager. In 1983 he was named director of merchandise operations and was responsible for creating baseball’s first mail-order catalog of team merchandise.

 

Larry resides in Andover, MA with his wife, Luise. They have two daughters, Laura Marie and Lisa.